Pangea

a world of writing

A message from Becca about Beanstalk

Hello Pangea Authors,

It was ages ago that we talked about what to do with our Pangea royalties and people came up with some good and interesting suggestions on what charity to give the money to. Since then, I’ve looked at various charities of one sort or another to do with writing and found a lot of them quite difficult to engage with, and in addition, I was looking for a charity which might have given Pangea a bit of a plug on their FB or website and I never saw anything that looked easy to approach and simple to deal with.

However, by chance a woman and a ten year old boy from a school in Battersea in London wrote to me to tell me how much they loved my novel Halfling, how it made them cry, and they were asking when I was going to write ‘the next one.’ The woman was a volunteer with a charity called Beanstalk. So, I can’t hold onto our royalty money any longer, and I’d like to give it to Beanstalk as it’s exactly the kind of charity I’d be a volunteer in myself, and might well do if there is a branch of it in Bristol. It’s a charity that has become international and it does operate in multi-cultural settings, so in the context of Pangea, it seems wonderfully fortuitous that it should’ve come my way via the business of writing without me hunting it down. The way I found them accidentally through one of their volunteers might be of interest to them, and we might get a plug on their website for Pangea. If any of you have any objections, could you let me know by email, otherwise I’ll just go ahead…

http://www.beanstalkcharity.org.uk/about-us

Becca

3 Comments»

  darkrebecca wrote @

the relationship with Beanstalk is still ongoing, they now have the delightful letters that Angela and Martelle sent me and I guess they will touch soon and put something together on their website about Pangea royalties that I’m going to give them, the book itself I hope, and then a bit of publicity for Halfling.

  darkrebecca wrote @

I hope all of you are well and if there are new books on the horizon for any of you, it would be great to hear about them here. You could send details to Sarah as she holds the keys so to speak. Happy writing to you all. I should perhaps say that I have two short story collections that came out simultaneously this year, ‘Mercy’ with Tartarus Press in a beautiful hardback edition with an ebook version also, and The View From Endless Street with WiDo Pubishing in paperback with an ebook version too.

  darkrebecca wrote @

I heard once again from Beanstalk who are now ready to give Pangea an airing on their website, so I have sent them off £100. Our royalties amounted to about £96, if I remember rightly, but I thought I’d round the figure off. I also sent them a copy of Pangea and a card in which I said the following:-
Dear People of Beanstalk,
please accept this cheque of £100 for your charity from all the writers in Pangea, an anthology of stories from around the globe. We admire the fantastic work you are doing with children.
Yours Sincerely, on behalf of us all,
Rebecca Lloyd.


Leave a Reply

