Pangea

a world of writing

Joel Willans: author interview

In the penultimate leg of the Pangea blog tour, flash fiction author and guru Calum Kerr (the mastermind behind National Flash Fiction Day) interviews Pangea author, Joel Willans:

For short stories one of my favourite ways of writing is from prompts. This is great to do with a group of like minded writers, a list of random words or phrases and a time limit, normally an hour. Sometimes I can knock out a complete story like this, more often I conjure up a thousand words of rubbish. Yet in the cold light of day even this can be useful… The great thing about using this writing technique, for me at least, is that I don’t have time to self edit as I write and the stories are totally different to those I’d write if I sat down at the keyboard with a plan in mind. I know some writers who call this “writing drunk” because you give the creative right side of your brain the freedom to go crazy. I think it sums it up perfectly.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

