Pangea

a world of writing

Cultural writing and inspiration: Pangea blog tour

Sarah Hilary invites Liesl Jobson and Fehmida Zakeer to talk about the cultural influences on their writing.

L: Writing is inevitably a way of homecoming at the most elemental level, a return to the core Self of the parts that split off in the daily business of living and get lost. My narratives are never planned. They always arrive, surprising me. The characters that appear are usually some aspect of myself, entirely symbolic, of course, but that is the medium of narrative.

F: My narratives start off as loops inside my head, and only the most persistent ones come down, the characters that refuse to go away until I write about them…so most of the time I’m familiar with my characters, I have lived with them for some days or weeks, I know their little quirks and fears…once everything is put down, there is a sense of relief, the nag-nag in my head disappears and I feel free.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

